Are we uncomfortable with mentally ill saints?

Inspired Angela

You’ve noticed, haven’t you?  Maybe not.

I haven’t been around the blog much lately.  Or the Internet for that matter.

Here’s why:

I’ve gone back to counseling.  Third year in a row, three different counselors.

Funny, when I must mention that I’m going to “therapy”, people think I’m referring to physical therapy.  One of my family members, after having learned that I was seeing a counselor, blurted out, “Why???”  Another very smart and influential person I know, once said on Catholic radio, “People spend so much money on therapy these days . . . but we Catholics have confession, and it’s free!” —  as if the two were interchangeable.

So, you know, I don’t generally tell people that I see a psychologist.

Our society still has a long way to go in educating ourselves and our children about mental health, and banishing the stigmas associated with psychological treatment.  I mean, I just looked up “stigma” in the dictionary…

View original post 409 more words

Leave a Reply

